marzipan
Posted by pinkcupcake on Oct 24, 2006 · Member since Oct 2006 · 2 posts
i love marzipan (to eat raw and in baking) and the only brand i readily have access to is Odense. i looked up the ingredients on the site and the paste appears to be vegan. can anyone confirm this?
I don't have it handy to check, but the ingredient lists I can find online make it look that way.
I had always thought that "marzipan" was made with egg white, but that "almond paste" wasn't-- I'm glad to find that Odense's marzipan looks to be vegan! I adore the stuff.
Hi there,
I am german, so grew up with that stuff, I love it! But it isn't exactly a health food.
However, the marzipan I had was always made from sugar and almonds, no animal products.
;)
OH SUCH NEWS! I LOVE it dipped in dark chocolate.
My husband adores marzipan chocolates. Last year, I ordered him some Ritter Sport marzipan chocolate, which is vegan. Earlier this year, I tried making my own and it turned out quite well, although it wasn't quite a snag-free process (if I remember correctly, I sort of had to play with the recipe a bit to get the proportions right). I used the "cooked marzipan" recipe on this site:
http://www.pastrywiz.com/season/marzipan.htm
Then I dipped the cooled marzipan in melted dark chocolate and my husband and I were very pleased with the result. Give it a try if you have lots of patience and time. We decided that it was a difficult (I even blanched my own almonds) enough process that I would only make it for very special occassions like his birthday.
Elizabeth
last year i submitted a homemade marzipan recipe on this site. i highly recommend it.
http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=6723.0
this recipe requires a food processor and is easily made. it is uncooked, the almonds are not blanched and the sugar refered to is powdered. i have used it very successfully for making german stollen at christmas time. it is also delicious to nibble on.