You are here

Joe-Joe's Addiction

In case you diidn't know, all flavors of Trader Joe's Joe-Joe's are vegan and...darn good with tea, coffee, by themselves.... I think I have an addiction to these cookies..... :P

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

0 likes

the candy cane ones are god. if only they weren't seasonal..

0 likes

god is never seasonal...
;)

0 likes

the candy cane ones are god. if only they weren't seasonal..

YOu gotta stock up!! I think I saw a few boxes the other day... check and see if your local tj's has some..... Go...go now!!

0 likes

The candy cane ones remind me of a cheaper (but equally tasty) version of the mint Newman-Os.  I try not to bring sugar into the house, but dang! those are good.

I'm sort of happy the candy cane cookies are seasonal - otherwise I'd have migraines all year long.

0 likes

The candy cane ones remind me of a cheaper (but equally tasty) version of the mint Newman-Os.  I try not to bring sugar into the house, but dang! those are good.

I'm sort of happy the candy cane cookies are seasonal - otherwise I'd have migraines all year long.

I've seen the dark chocolate-dipped candy cane Joe-Joe's but have never checked to see if vegan....bet those are good frozen.... I like to freeze my Joe-Joe's!

0 likes

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

The chocolate sandwich creme Joe-Joe's are vegan-- I have a box right now. Maybe you mean the chocolate-dipped candy-cane Joe-Joe's-- I think those are vegan too,  because they're dark-chocolate dipped not milk chocolate but I'm not 100% sure..I think most if not all dark chocolate is vegan--it's milk chocolate that's not. So eat all the Joe-Joe's your heart desireS!!

0 likes

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

The chocolate sandwich creme Joe-Joe's are vegan-- I have a box right now. Maybe you mean the chocolate-dipped candy-cane Joe-Joe's-- I think those are vegan too,  because they're dark-chocolate dipped not milk chocolate but I'm not 100% sure..I think most if not all dark chocolate is vegan--it's milk chocolate that's not. So eat all the Joe-Joe's your heart desireS!!

yeah i meant the dipped ones.  trust me TONS of 'dark chocolate' contains milk or its derivatives.  same goes for semi-sweet, just because it doesnt say 'milk chocolate' on the front doesn't mean theres no milk hidden on the back label.  it's actually really common - just check the next bag of nestle semi-sweet chips or hersheys dark chocolate bars next time you're at the store.  even some of tjs dark chocolate dipped tubs of candy have dairy in them.  i plan on going to tj's as soon as the weather gets out of the negatives here and if they still have the dipped ones in stock i'll read it and let you know what i find out.

0 likes

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

The chocolate sandwich creme Joe-Joe's are vegan-- I have a box right now. Maybe you mean the chocolate-dipped candy-cane Joe-Joe's-- I think those are vegan too,  because they're dark-chocolate dipped not milk chocolate but I'm not 100% sure..I think most if not all dark chocolate is vegan--it's milk chocolate that's not. So eat all the Joe-Joe's your heart desireS!!

yeah i meant the dipped ones.  trust me TONS of 'dark chocolate' contains milk or its derivatives.  same goes for semi-sweet, just because it doesnt say 'milk chocolate' on the front doesn't mean theres no milk hidden on the back label.  it's actually really common - just check the next bag of nestle semi-sweet chips or hersheys dark chocolate bars next time you're at the store.  even some of tjs dark chocolate dipped tubs of candy have dairy in them.  i plan on going to tj's as soon as the weather gets out of the negatives here and if they still have the dipped ones in stock i'll read it and let you know what i find out.

I have to respectfully disagree and say you're wrong about this only because I buy tons of dark, semisweet & bittersweet chocolate, mostly from TJ's & Whole Foods and it all contains this:
cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, cocoa solids 72% minimum. Vegan
The back labels say this also: Made on equipment shared with wheat, milk, egg, peanuts and tree nuts,
which most labels say, even on vegan products, which compromises every vegan product. Milk chocolate has milk in it, dark chocolate does not. I know my chocolate. And I always go by the back label, not by the front. After all, as a vegan, I am always checking ingredient labels.  ;)

0 likes

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

The chocolate sandwich creme Joe-Joe's are vegan-- I have a box right now. Maybe you mean the chocolate-dipped candy-cane Joe-Joe's-- I think those are vegan too,  because they're dark-chocolate dipped not milk chocolate but I'm not 100% sure..I think most if not all dark chocolate is vegan--it's milk chocolate that's not. So eat all the Joe-Joe's your heart desireS!!

yeah i meant the dipped ones.  trust me TONS of 'dark chocolate' contains milk or its derivatives.  same goes for semi-sweet, just because it doesnt say 'milk chocolate' on the front doesn't mean theres no milk hidden on the back label.  it's actually really common - just check the next bag of nestle semi-sweet chips or hersheys dark chocolate bars next time you're at the store.  even some of tjs dark chocolate dipped tubs of candy have dairy in them.   i plan on going to tj's as soon as the weather gets out of the negatives here and if they still have the dipped ones in stock i'll read it and let you know what i find out.

I have to respectfully disagree and say you're wrong about this only because I buy tons of dark, semisweet & bittersweet chocolate, mostly from TJ's & Whole Foods and it all contains this:
cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, cocoa solids 72% minimum. Vegan
The back labels say this also: Made on equipment shared with wheat, milk, egg, peanuts and tree nuts,
which most labels say, even on vegan products, which compromises every vegan product. Milk chocolate has milk in it, dark chocolate does not. I know my chocolate. And I always go by the back label, not by the front. After all, as a vegan, I am always checking ingredient labels.  ;)

I think you are quite lucky then that your TJ's has non-milk or whey items.  My local TJ's has almost none.  Anything labeled Dark Chocolate I pick up and find milk fat or whey or lactose in it.  From the dark chocolate covered oranges to covered pretzels to covered Joe-Joes.

Its sad really.  I just wish that I could live near a TJ's that was more vegan.

0 likes

im pretty sure the chocolate dipped ones aren't.... but the original flavor i tried are definitely delicious.

The chocolate sandwich creme Joe-Joe's are vegan-- I have a box right now. Maybe you mean the chocolate-dipped candy-cane Joe-Joe's-- I think those are vegan too,  because they're dark-chocolate dipped not milk chocolate but I'm not 100% sure..I think most if not all dark chocolate is vegan--it's milk chocolate that's not. So eat all the Joe-Joe's your heart desireS!!

yeah i meant the dipped ones.  trust me TONS of 'dark chocolate' contains milk or its derivatives.  same goes for semi-sweet, just because it doesnt say 'milk chocolate' on the front doesn't mean theres no milk hidden on the back label.  it's actually really common - just check the next bag of nestle semi-sweet chips or hersheys dark chocolate bars next time you're at the store.  even some of tjs dark chocolate dipped tubs of candy have dairy in them.  i plan on going to tj's as soon as the weather gets out of the negatives here and if they still have the dipped ones in stock i'll read it and let you know what i find out.

I have to respectfully disagree and say you're wrong about this only because I buy tons of dark, semisweet & bittersweet chocolate, mostly from TJ's & Whole Foods and it all contains this:
cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, soy lecithin, cocoa solids 72% minimum. Vegan
The back labels say this also: Made on equipment shared with wheat, milk, egg, peanuts and tree nuts,
which most labels say, even on vegan products, which compromises every vegan product. Milk chocolate has milk in it, dark chocolate does not. I know my chocolate. And I always go by the back label, not by the front. After all, as a vegan, I am always checking ingredient labels.  ;)

I think you are quite lucky then that your TJ's has non-milk or whey items.  My local TJ's has almost none.  Anything labeled Dark Chocolate I pick up and find milk fat or whey or lactose in it.  From the dark chocolate covered oranges to covered pretzels to covered Joe-Joes.

Its sad really.  I just wish that I could live near a TJ's that was more vegan.

Try the pound plus dark chocolate and bittersweet chocolate bars-- those are vegan, yummy and you get lots of chocolate for your $$.

0 likes

the candy cane ones are god. if only they weren't seasonal..

YOu gotta stock up!! I think I saw a few boxes the other day... check and see if your local tj's has some..... Go...go now!!

I looooooove the candy cane ones. I was there a week or 2 ago and saw a friend buying two boxes. I bought one but now it's already almost gone. totes shoulda stocked up. 

0 likes

I just got back from tjs and i wanted to clarify this once & for all.  The Dark Chocolate Dipped Joe-Joes are NOT vegan.  the third line down is the ingredient "Milk Fat".  i woulda taken a pic if i had my camera with me, but you'll just have to trust my eyeballs.

0 likes

I trust your eyeballs.

0 likes

I just got back from tjs and i wanted to clarify this once & for all.  The Dark Chocolate Dipped Joe-Joes are NOT vegan.  the third line down is the ingredient "Milk Fat".  i woulda taken a pic if i had my camera with me, but you'll just have to trust my eyeballs.

those are the only non-vegan joe-joe's if at all (i've never bought or checked the label as I can dip my own JJ's  :P)
good job policing the joe-joe's ppc :-D
I just buy straight JJ's (vanilla, candycane, vanilla bean, chocolate creme).... and often use to make my own cookies&cream ice cream  :)>>>

0 likes

Unfortunately, I don't believe Joe-Joe's (any flavor) are vegan as they are not on the Trader Joe's Vegan Product List (they are on the vegetarian product list however).
www.traderjoes.com/attachments/vegan.pdf 
This may be because there is more than one type of Vitamin D. Vitamin D2 is fungal based and thus vegan but there is a Vitamin D3 that is derived from sheep's skin :(
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cholecalciferol

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments