You are here

Teriyaki sauce

Does anybody know if teriyaki sauce is vegan? I'd check myself, but I don't have any right now. Any answer would be very much appreciated! :)

i believe it is if its made in the traditional way. the way i make it. Its just soy sauce, Mirin(sweet rice liquer), and sugar.


Often there is honey in pre-made teriyaki sauce.  It's one of those things you have to ask about or read the ingredients of.


OMG.  I never really thought about it, I figured it was just soy sauce and some spices.  So I checked a bottle I had in the fridge that I liked because it was low sodium.  Not only is it not vegan it's not even vegetarian.  One of the ingredients is "stock made with beef marrow bones".  Gross.


here maybe this will help

    * 1/2 cup soy sauce
    * 1/2 cup *mirin (sweet rice wine)
    * 2 tbsp sugar

I order mirin online, you can also use sake just add a little more sugar, but mirin makes it best.

Log in or register to post comments