You are here

Question about Pure Ghee

Hello,
Is pure ghee vegetarian ? someone mentioned about a high court ruling (in india) regarding adding some fish-derivative to ghee, maybe a few years ago but had no idea whether this was even implemented.

Thank you.

you will obviously be surprised to know that ghee is simply clarified butter and therefore, pure or not, ghee is not vegetarian. 

see Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ghee

cheers!

0 likes

thankyou for clarifying this sandhya.  in retrospect, i should have used the word vegan, rather than vegetarian.

0 likes

:)Note: vegetable ghee is available from Indian grocers, sold as 'Vanaspati Ghee.'

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments

More Posts Like This