You are here

Member since November 2004

Salisbury Steak

What you need: 

1 onion, sliced
1 small can (4 ounces) mushrooms, drained
olive oil, as needed
1 (10 ounce) box vegan burger patties (I use Boca)
1 cup veggie broth
1 teaspoon kitchen bouquet
1 tablespoon cornstarch

What you do: 

1. Saute sliced onion and mushroom in some vegetable oil for a few minutes, until onion is translucent.
2. Add 4 burgers and cook for several minutes on each side, until it looks pretty done.
3. Meanwhile, make gravy: Add kitchen bouquet and cornstarch to veggie broth. Whisk until smooth.
4. Pour sauce over burgers. Turn heat to medium. Gravy will thicken within a few minutes. Dish is done when gravy is thick.
Source of recipe: I've been making this recipe for about 15 years and love to serve it with mashed potatoes and green beans. It's my son's favorite meal!

Preparation Time: 
15 minutes
Cooking Time: 
Servings: 
Recipe Category: 

SO HOW'D IT GO?

This is very good.  I make this 3-4 times per month because my kids love it so much.  I used Boca vegan burgers for many months, but I just started using the Gardein beefless burgers and it is much tastier with these burgers.  I also use the gravy mixture as my basic go to gravy for mashed potatoes as well.  Thanks for the great idea.

0 likes

This is one of those,"why is this even a recipe?" recipe...although it did save me in a crunch for time, thanks for the idea!

0 likes

Loved this recipe!!!!! I definitely craving something like this. Instead of vegetable broth I used Imagine's No-Chicken broth and instead of kitchen bouquet I used Braggs Liquid Aminos, 1 tsp of sage (or less), 1/4 tsp onion powder 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, and a pinch of pepper to make more of an herb gravy. I also used Portabella mushrooms. I think I can die satisfied now. :)>>>

0 likes