You are here

Aspartame Processed with an Enzyme from Pig Kidney

This isn't new news, but I didn't know it.  I found a whole bunch of sites with this information when I was looking for aspartame info (and discovering kmk was right - of course - and I was wrong; it's L-phen in aspartame, not D-phen). 

Aspartame isn't vegan.

http://chemwiki.ucdavis.edu/Biological_Chemistry/Sweetners/Aspartame

In the synthesis of aspartame, the starting materials are a racemic mixture (equal quantities of both isomers) of phenylalanine, and aspartic acid. Only the L isomer of phenylalanine is desired for use. This L isomer may be separated from the D isomer by a chemical pretreatment, followed by a reaction with the enzyme porcine kidney acylase. The final separation occurs with an acidic aqueous and organic extraction, where the L isomer is more soluble in the aqueous layer and the D isomer is more soluble in the organic layer.

You aren't the only one. I didn't know either. Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

0 likes

lol.  You and yg didn't know, so I feel better now.  :)  ::)

0 likes

EW SICK!!! i didnt know either!

0 likes

I didn't know, but I wouldn't be surprised with all the gross things in silly things like fake sweeteners.
I'm happy I just assumed there would be something weird in aspartame making it not vegan so I never eat it.

0 likes

oh wow. i hate anything of the nature so thank goodness i don't eat it, but i will be passing this info along! i know many vegans do use it.

0 likes

interesting. i don't do the artificial sweetners but still, nice to know

0 likes

wait a second... seriously diet soda isn't vegan? all aspartame isn't vegan? i drink diet soda and crystal light so i have been drinking crap with animals in it? i had no idea :(

0 likes

I avoid aspartame like the plague because it's SO evil--pure evil--for your health, but I had no idea it wasn't vegan! Good to know, and I'll pass it on to my friends who aren't as strict about aspartame but who are veg.

Amymylove, a MUCH healthier diet drink choice (& a vegan one) is Zevia. I'm totally into their root beer & cherry. The cola's not bad either althought it contains caffeine. I'm not crazy about their other flavors tho. It's the first soda-type drink EVER to contain no calories AND no junk. I hope they come up w/ some new flavors soon...

0 likes

so i have been drinking crap with animals in it? i had no idea

Animal isn't in it, but animal was used during processing.  It's equivalent to the use of bone char in the processing of white sugar.

0 likes

My reaction to this was odd. I already knew aspartame was evil, and that it tastes disgusting, so my thought was, "I'm glad it's also not vegan." ::) Strike three, you're out.

0 likes

oh i see it's like bone char in sugar... i guess i have another new years resolution

0 likes

that's pretty sick.  I had no idea either.  Blech!

0 likes

OMG NO MORE GUM. D:

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments