You are here

Vegan Gum!

Following the phenylalanine pig-kidney revelation, I went looking for tooth-friendly vegan chewing gums... Here's at least one success! I just got an email back from Epic Dental:

Quote:
Thank you so much for the email! We love hearing from our customers and helping prople to learn more about xylitol and our products. You have a great question!

I have GREAT news for you!
None of our products' ingredients have any animal product in them!

In fact this is a quote from www.hotfrog.com/Products/xylitol

"Epic Dental is a world-famous provider of Xylitol products such as Xylitol Gum, ... the breath freshner market providing Vegan and Gluten free gum and mints ..."

Let me know if you have any other questions! Thank you for checking out our website!

Have a great day!

Only other vegan gum I know of is B-Fresh. I remember hearing that 5 was vegan, but that may not be inclusive of phenylalanine.

Of course, if you don't refuse to use plastics, white sugar, pharmaceuticals, petroleum products, unfiltered water, this may be going a little further than you intend. :P

crap i only chew trident white... i did email them and they claimed their gum was vegan (it does have aspartame)

i am just wondering... i know there is the 1 link that talks about aspartame not being vegan but i am not so sure i buy into it... i would think we would have heard of this more often! and i didn't read anything about it not being vegan in skinny bitch or all the non vegan ingredient lists i have looked at... and googleing it doesn't really produce results about it not being vegan... obviously it is bad for u though

0 likes

True enough. Either I'm being overcautious or gullible or both, but I guess having the info can't hurt. :P

0 likes

ya for sure... do what u need to do... i just wish we had more than 1 article to back the whole aspartame non vegan thing up :) links welcome people :)

0 likes

Its like soda, if your not screwed by the aspartame then its the fructose.

0 likes

Yeah, I can't find anything else online to suggest aspartame wouldn't be vegan. Strange that there would just be the one article. Then again, I guess artificial sweeteners are hardly the backbone of anyone's diet.

0 likes

I think Spry and Peelu are vegan.

I wish I could find a health-ish version of Hubba Bubba.

I try to avoid aspartame, and am constantly on the search for a decent gum!

0 likes

Aspartame might not be vegan but I can tell you from my biochemistry courses that it is very easy to synthesize, so it could theoretically be vegan.  So it would depend on the least expensive method of production- 

Okay I just did some research and here is documentation about the mass production of aspartame and it seems very vegan:

http://books.google.com/books?id=fnE7R732COMC&pg=PA20&lpg=PA20&dq=how+%22mass+production+of+aspartame+%22&source=bl&ots=acaGWkxiDZ&sig=tL1laA-Q6TOLViJXddmzHHdFhpQ&hl=en&ei=Xl9OS_6AFpDKsAP-toCDCA&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=2&ved=0CAkQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q=how%20%22mass%20production%20of%20aspartame%20%22&f=false

0 likes

Holy cow, it's wormywyrm! :howdy:  Nice to see you back!

0 likes

Hey :-)

0 likes

Nobody should consume aspartame, vegan or not.

0 likes

It's certainly not a health food or an environmentally-friendly product, but I hardly think it's all that much worse than white sugar or alcohol or any of the multitude of synthetic chemicals used in food production.

0 likes

I still fail to see anything worse than white sugar or food colourings or flavourings. I don't see why aspartame specifically gets such a bad rap. What about the varying aromatic esters that go into flavourings? Benzene is a known carcinogen.

I don't mean for this to become an aspartame debate - I've read up on the subject and just obviously don't feel as strongly about it as you do. Agree to disagree.

0 likes

Thats fine, you can believe whatever you want that is your right. But I know from research that aspartame is a poison and should not be used for human consumption, its simply a fact. I would have to agree that all the other things you listed are bad as well, fructose specifically is a liver toxin and is metabolized essentially the same way alcohol is.

0 likes

Fructose as in fruit sugar?

0 likes

Yes, fruit sugar. Fruit itself is fine because the content is comparatively small to other manufactured foods, and also because it contains a healthy amount of fibre (which sodas for example do not).

0 likes

Okay, fair enough - a denatured chemical compound taken from its source can be harmful at certain doses. But if someone wants to have a piece of sugar-free gum, or one fructose-sweetened piece of candy... I don't think that's going to cause them to immediately drop dead, or produce 'substandard' offspring, or turn into Mr. Hyde.

0 likes

I know this thread is months old, but I just read over on another veg*n forum that Dentyne Fire is (or at least looks) vegan. From the time that post was posted (August 16th, 2009) it also said that the glycerin in it was plant-derived, though the current ingredients list doesn't label glycerin.

Quote:
DENTYNE FIRE® SPICY CINNAMON ARTIFICIALLY FLAVORED:

SORBITOL, ARTIFICIAL AND NATURAL FLAVORING, MAGNESIUM STEARATE, SUCRALOSE, RED 40 LAKE AND SOY LECITHIN.

http://www.dentyne.com/NutritionalInformation.aspx

Of course the artificial and natural flavoring can be questionable, but does anyone know for sure offhand whether or not it is?

0 likes

i dunno i chew trident white and the company claimed it was vegan

0 likes

I am also not a fan of the artificial sweeteners, colours, flavourings, etc. that I find in gum. I've tried to turn to natural gums, but they are expensive and due to the lack of aforementioned crap the flavour doesn't last very long so you're left chewing on what now tastes like a piece of rubber. Not worth my bucks. I have yet to try the B-12 gums out there, and I'll leave my mind open to them. But for now, I think I'll stick with mints.

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments

More Posts Like This