You are here

new vegan finds!

i'd like to start a thread of new things you happen across or discover that are vegan.  i browse around in the grocery store quite a bit, reading labels, and sometimes find some pretty interesting and surprising vegan foods!

so anyway, one i found this weekend is....banana babies!  they're from diana's bananas and the dark chocolate ones are vegan.  they're just frozen bananas dipped in chocolate, but..mmmm.  the chocolate is a tiny bit waxy, but all in all, i thought it was a pretty good find.

also, many of marie calendar's fruit pies are vegan as well, which is awesome for a yummy, fatty dessert when i don't feel like making one, haha...

anyone else been finding something cool and yummy?

Heh, Cinnamon Teddy Grahams are vegan. No honey-- they use the natural goodness of HFCS instead. :D

0 likes

btw, i got some chocolate skittles and they are barftastic.

ew.

0 likes

btw, i got some chocolate skittles and they are barftastic.

ew.

whats wrong with you people?

0 likes

btw, i got some chocolate skittles and they are barftastic.

ew.

whats wrong with you people?

obviously they don't have palates as sophisticated as ours.  ::)
kidding, kidding.
i don't get why people hate them though..

0 likes

btw, i got some chocolate skittles and they are barftastic.

ew.

whats wrong with you people?

obviously they don't have palates as sophisticated as ours.  ::)
kidding, kidding.
i don't get why people hate them though..

i know! whats to hate??  chewy sugary chocolate - theyre awesome!  i like them way more than tootsie rolls and they're right up there with sugar babies, so i guess if you like those sortsa things then maybe you'd like em.  i'm not even a huge candy person but i cannot bring myself to buy them again cus i dont trust myself with that big bag.  theyre addictive.

0 likes

i found a vegan version of spaghetti o's!

in the british food section of meijers i found Branston Spaghetti Loops.  they were around a buck a can and have whole wheat pasta loops.  I just ate them and they were a little sweeter than franco americans so i added some salt and some nutritional yeast and they became perfect!

0 likes

bad news

skittles and starburst in the uk ARE NOT suitabe for vegans- mostly because of the colouring- thre's cochineal in for sure and emulsifier 475. They are also coated in shellac.

I'm really not sure about US poptarts from Kellogg's- you need to decipher the long complex chemical bits to know for sure.

Can I just say, bravo to Kellogg's US and Kellogg's UK  for the transparency of their information. Manufacturer's such as MARS should follow their example and not build websites which are not only badly designed and difficult to navigate but fail to list ingredients.

Don't they reliase that most vegan consumers are far more likely to support brands which disclose the facts and allow us to make informed choices? For example, I may need to avoid some Kellogg's products but I currently have to avoid ALL MARS products!

On teh topic of 'chips' or crisps as we call hem over here, I eat Kettle chips, who have a lovely clear website which devides their products into vegan, vegatarian, kosher, gluten-free and so on. Balsamic vinegar and sea salt anyone...... ;)b

As far as I know, the UK starburst actually are vegan. They don't have carmine (cochineal) color, and do not contain shellac (since they have no candy shell unlike Skittles). Dunno about the E475. But if things have changed since I had them, anyone have a link to ingredients? I haven't found it online.

0 likes

I think I already mentioned it in this thread, but the past two 7-Eleven's I've visited had a refrigerated section of vegan sandwiches and other lunch items.  I bought a quinoa and grilled vegetable burrito today for the long bus ride from Philly to Hartford.  It was pretty dang good!  And I was like, whoa, quinoa at a convenience store!

where? Which stores?

0 likes

Cape Cod salt and vinegar chips, yummyy

0 likes

Cape Cod salt and vinegar chips, yummyy

mm im eating those right now  :>

0 likes

I just ate my last one  :'(
I must go to store while they are still buy one get one free

0 likes

I was at the store and completely forgot to get more chips  :( But, i did enjoy running around reading chocolate and pudding and things that were dairy free  :)>>> One day i'm going to have the most amazing chocolate craving and buy everything possible and go crazy, haha

0 likes

i'll add the vegan chocolate skittles to this thread too... so good & i found them at target

Skittles is made by Mars, Corp., and they test on animals.  I boycott them.

0 likes

health choice fresh mixers - rotini and zesty marinara sauce
It does have a wine reduction in the sauce, i dont know if that effects anyone
But its very yummy, pasta, with a little strainer and sauce, it kind of has excess packaging but its very yummy. Its by the soups/chillis/random microwave noodly things at stores. Its very nice for when you are feeling lazy, dont have time, or are somewhere where you cant actully cook up pasta

0 likes

trader joes has vegan rice crispy treats!
mm.

0 likes

bad news

skittles and starburst in the uk ARE NOT suitabe for vegans- mostly because of the colouring- thre's cochineal in for sure and emulsifier 475. They are also coated in shellac.

I'm really not sure about US poptarts from Kellogg's- you need to decipher the long complex chemical bits to know for sure.

Can I just say, bravo to Kellogg's US and Kellogg's UK  for the transparency of their information. Manufacturer's such as MARS should follow their example and not build websites which are not only badly designed and difficult to navigate but fail to list ingredients.

Don't they reliase that most vegan consumers are far more likely to support brands which disclose the facts and allow us to make informed choices? For example, I may need to avoid some Kellogg's products but I currently have to avoid ALL MARS products!

On teh topic of 'chips' or crisps as we call hem over here, I eat Kettle chips, who have a lovely clear website which devides their products into vegan, vegatarian, kosher, gluten-free and so on. Balsamic vinegar and sea salt anyone...... ;)b

As far as I know, the UK starburst actually are vegan. They don't have carmine (cochineal) color, and do not contain shellac (since they have no candy shell unlike Skittles). Dunno about the E475. But if things have changed since I had them, anyone have a link to ingredients? I haven't found it online.

I go this email from mars:

-----Inline Attachment Follows-----

Dear Michelle,

Thank you for contacting us

Please find below a list of current Mars snackfood products suitable for a vegan diet.

STARBURST Fruity Chews, Sour Chews
TUNES

Mars Snackfood, a division of Mars UK Limited, exercises every care in providing this product information, changes may occur in the future.

If you need any further information or advice please contact our Consumer Careline on the telephone number below and one of our Consumer Care Advisors will be more than happy to help you.

Kind regards.

Ashley Jones
Consumer Care Team
0800 952 1234

----------
so it looks like the starburst in the UK are vegan.

0 likes

Thats weird, why would the US ones have gelatin and those not? Ugh. I want starburst lol.

0 likes

Yet another reason to go to Europe.

0 likes

Yet another reason to go to Europe.

Yay come to Europe to visit me

0 likes

Yet another reason to go to Europe.

Yay come to Europe to visit me

Will you pay the airfare?

0 likes

Pages

Log in or register to post comments