You are here

Yeast

I bought some yeast and guess what it says on it? (I'm throwing it out).

Ingriedients: Yeast, Sorbitan Monostearate

That's not vegan.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sorbitan_monostearate the stearate comes from tallow.

This is Hodgson mills yeast, beware all fellow vegans.

 

 

I just looked at Red Stars website and it says all their yeast products are vegan. http://www.redstaryeast.com/products/red-star%C2%AE
I don't know about Hodgson Mill, though.

Edit: Hodgson Mill says their yeast is vegan, too.
http://www.hodgsonmill.com/vegan-product-list/

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments

More Posts Like This