"Processed in a facility that uses MILK..(and other things,even meat/dairy)"
I see some products that are totally animal free but on the box it says "Processed in a facility that uses MILK,etc etc. those are still considered vegan right? do u still buy them?
I don't fret about that stuff. Those who make food have to find facilities to produce them. They can't always choose vegan facilities, they have to make due with what is available for them. I don't fault them for that. It's just part of working/living in the world. Things can't always be perfect.
Personally I still buy them. They are required to say such things because of allergies. Some people have such severe allergies to dairy and other things that they need this information.
Many companies that make vegan food also make non-vegan food. I can't worry about that kind of thing. It's like my "health food" store also sells meat, but I still shop there.
you pretty much summed up my answer thanks hun :)>>>
I am not a vegan, I'm a vegetarian...however my husband is a hardcore Vegan. I have tried to explain to him that when it says "made in a facility that processes milk, and eggs" that it doesn't mean that ANY milk and eggs is actually in the food. Its simply an allergy warning due to the possibility of trace elements that may be present. When he's in a really picky mood and he sees that on something he will refuse to eat it because he says milk or eggs may have touched it (he has absolutely NO food allergies). Personally I don't care and I cook him stuff all the time that has these warnings on the label...some spices like bay leaves even have this warning on the label. I feel like its hard enough to try to cook vegan living in such an anti-vegan part of the country. I can't be worrying about where foods were processed too! :D
At a previous job at a food company I had to take multiple tours of our manufacturing facitilies. I would watch them carefully clean out the equipment between recipe changes. So to me the label "Processed in a facility that uses MILK, etc.." doesn't really bother me because I've seen the care the workers take in cleaning the equipment and also the inspections that take place afterward.
I wouldn't buy things that are processed on the some equipment with fish or shellfish. Once I bought a different brand of chili powder than normal, and it was processed on the same equipment as shrimp. For one thing, that's just gross. For another thing, it doesn't make sense and I would probably not think about it if someone who was allergic to shellfish could possibly be eating my chili. Hopefully people with shellfish allergies are aware of such things! But, I didn't get that brand again!