im really new to being vegan, and i was just wondering what products i should look out for when reading ingredients.
i know the obvious ones like milk, eggs, whey, geletin.
i get confused when things dont acutally say vegan on them :-[
so i usually just buy things that are really basic or say vegan.
in long lists of ingredients i really dont know what to look for.
also, at resturants, is it safe to order say, pasta with marinara sauce, how do you know if its vegan if it doesnt say so?
watch out for Natural Flavors, Mono and Diglycerides and enzymes.
there is a great series of books that lists tons of non-vegan ingredients in the back. the first is called How it all Vegan, then there's The Garden of Vegan and then La Dolce Vegan. great, easy and quick recipes that are awesome and lots of random cool info. the first series i ever picked up and to this day still my favorite!
Here's a partial list:
Also watch out for Vitamind D3 as it usually is from animals.