You are here

lactose

hello y'all

i have a question that maybe you could clear up for  me

what is lactose?--i mean i read the definition in the dictionary, its a milk sugar...so does it mean that its "from" milk or "added" to it?

and lactic acid?

can vegans have either of these things? i ingredient read and don't eat things with the in it just incase

if y'all could clear that up for me that would be great!!!

thanx so much

lactose is milk sugar that is in the milk as it comes outta the cow. so vegans wouldn't eat it. encycopdeia.com also says that plant's can't make it...

from our friends at emcycolpedia.com:
LACTIC ACID CH 3 CHOHCO 2 H, a colorless liquid organic acid. It is miscible with water or ethanol. Lactic acid is a fermentation product of lactose (milk sugar); it is present in sour milk, koumiss, leban, yogurt, and cottage cheese. The protein in milk is coagulated (curdled) by lactic acid. Lactic acid is produced in the muscles during intense activity. Calcium lactate, a soluble lactic acid salt, is used as a source of calcium in the diet. Lactic acid is produced commercially for use in pharmaceuticals and foods, in leather tanning and textile dyeing, and in making plastics, solvents, inks, and lacquers. Although it can be prepared by chemical synthesis, production of lactic acid by fermentation of glucose and other substances is a less expensive method. 

;D

0 likes

incase anybody finds vegan products containing lactic acid and gets confused, i thought i'd reinforce that lactic acid containing products can still be vegan, as lactic acid can be made from other sources than milk.

wikipedia says:
Lactic acid is used in a variety of food stuffs to act as an acidity regulator. Although it can be fermented from lactose (milk sugar), most commercially used lactic acid is derived from bacteria such as Bascillus acidilacti, Lactobascillus delbueckii or L. bulgaricuswhey to ferment carbohydrates from sources such as cornstarch, potatoes or molasses. Thus, although it is commonly known as "milk acid", products claiming to be vegan do sometimes feature lactic acid as an ingredient.

i'd check with the company who makes each specific product if you're not sure (or ask a nice vegeweb person- like i tend to do - i suck at phoning strange companies and trying to remain coherant while on the phone with them!).

0 likes

Yes, hoodedclawjen is exactly right about lactic acid being derived from bacteria because the earth balance margarine I have includes lactic acid in the ingredients but clarifies in paranthesis that its origin is not animal derived. So, it's usually a good idea to call companies if you're unsure whether the lactic acid is animal derived or bacteria derived. This can be most confusing when purchasing breads at the grocery stores as ingredients may include lactic acid which can be derived from yeast, a bacterium.  Wouldn't life be so easy if companies would label their products as 'vegan' or non-vegan?! Oh, the confusions!  ::)

0 likes

oh  phew!!!--thanx so much for your replies...

i understand so much more now, thankyou

oops,i DID eat sumpen with lactose in it...i wasn't sure if i  could or not, my weakness for the tasty salty yummy morsels over rode my logic...yikes!!! just a few handfuls of salt n vinegar chips(lays)--old dutch doesn't have lactose(next time i will go with my first instinct to NOT eat the item and not try to  justify it by playen dumb haha...when in doubt...don't eat it!!!)

mkay have a great day guys n gals :)

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments