You are here

Is Champagne vegan?

Hi y'all, this is my first post here EVER, so please be gentle!  I was just wondering, is Champagne vegan?  I don't drink alcohol, but was given four bottles of champagne over Christmas.  I would like to know if it's vegan, and if it is, if I can bake any cakes with it?

Hi ChocolateKitty

NoNoNoNoNo.  Please don't bake cakes with champagne.  It would be pure and simple sacrilege.  Give it to someone(s) who will savour its delicious effervescence.

Cheers!
Adagio

0 likes

ha, i think adagio meant not to ruin the "yummyness" of the bubbly by putting it in a cake...not that it wasn't vegan.

i don't drink, really. some boozes aren't vegan because they will use animal stuff to "clarify" it. that's all i know. some beers are vegan and some aren't. i guess you would have to look at the specific brand/type of alchol for an answer...what kind of champagne is it?

0 likes

and, i forgot, chocolatekitty, this little board is very friendly and supportive of questions, even ones people might think are "no brainers" or whatever. so feel free to post away and welcome!  ;D

0 likes

yes, thanks baypuppy, that is certainly what i was suggesting.  champagne is meant for drinking, not cooking.

0 likes

When wine (and sparkling white wines, like Champagne) is clarified, a few different things can be used:

fish bladders
gelatin
egg albumin

I don't know exactly what goes on in the clarification process, besides filtering of particles, and whatnot, but those three things are used most commonly. The clarifying agent isn't usually listed on the bottle. One would have to confer with the manufacturer to be certain, and even they might not know for sure, as they might use any one of those methods, or others that I've never heard of.

There are vegan methods for clarifying, though I don't know what they are. One would have to seek out alcohol from manufacturers who specialize in that sort of thing, I suppose.

Hope this was more helpful than confusing.
-Joelle

0 likes

I know that in beers, all they have to do is wait for the sediment to go to the bottom and then bottle it. That's what I heard anyway.
The fish bladder is also called "isinglass".
Here is a vegan booze list. Obviously, not all alcohol is mentioned since there are so many different brands/types.

http://www.veganporn.com/booze.pl

From personal experience, I will report that the Godiva original liqueur is vegan, but the rest of them (white chocolate, etc) contain milk. So if someone has a good chocolate martini recipe, please post it! Kahlua is vegan but Bailey's is not.

0 likes

ha ha, i don't have that recipie but i always thought that booze + milk =  grossest thing ever. maybe its because i don't like milk, but who thought that up?

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments