Is Champagne vegan?
Hi y'all, this is my first post here EVER, so please be gentle! I was just wondering, is Champagne vegan? I don't drink alcohol, but was given four bottles of champagne over Christmas. I would like to know if it's vegan, and if it is, if I can bake any cakes with it?
NoNoNoNoNo. Please don't bake cakes with champagne. It would be pure and simple sacrilege. Give it to someone(s) who will savour its delicious effervescence.
yes, thanks baypuppy, that is certainly what i was suggesting. champagne is meant for drinking, not cooking.
When wine (and sparkling white wines, like Champagne) is clarified, a few different things can be used:
I don't know exactly what goes on in the clarification process, besides filtering of particles, and whatnot, but those three things are used most commonly. The clarifying agent isn't usually listed on the bottle. One would have to confer with the manufacturer to be certain, and even they might not know for sure, as they might use any one of those methods, or others that I've never heard of.
There are vegan methods for clarifying, though I don't know what they are. One would have to seek out alcohol from manufacturers who specialize in that sort of thing, I suppose.
Hope this was more helpful than confusing.
I know that in beers, all they have to do is wait for the sediment to go to the bottom and then bottle it. That's what I heard anyway.
The fish bladder is also called "isinglass".
Here is a vegan booze list. Obviously, not all alcohol is mentioned since there are so many different brands/types.
From personal experience, I will report that the Godiva original liqueur is vegan, but the rest of them (white chocolate, etc) contain milk. So if someone has a good chocolate martini recipe, please post it! Kahlua is vegan but Bailey's is not.