You are here

the cereal dispute

I called General Mills and they told me Wheaties is not vegan because the Vitamin D is animal derived. In fact, all of their products that contain vitamin D is animal derived, including Cheerios. So why does PETA list cheerios as "accidentally vegan"? I am sad

well, according the PETA page:

"*Items listed may contain trace amounts of animal-derived ingredients. While PETA supports a strict adherence to veganism, we put the task of vigorously reducing animal suffering ahead of personal purity. Boycotting products that are 99.9 percent vegan sends the message to manufacturers that there is no market for this food, which ends up hurting more animals. For a more detailed explanation of PETA’s position, please visit http://www.caringconsumer.com/labels.html."

It is good the GM doesn't have their heads up their butts about what is in their products though. look at the bright side!  ;D

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments